Looking for Alaska by John Green

I’m not actually very sure how to do this, but I want to get back into blogging and I do enjoy writing book reviews so I am going to try and write one for books I’ve read and loved.

Image

I must confess that the first time I read this book, I did not like it. In the slightest. I hated Alaska, I hated Miles, I hated the Colonel; basically I just hated all of the characters. Now, normally when this happens I can still manage to enjoy the book, for example The Great Gatsby. But the first time I read it, I simply hated everything about them such as the way they talked and the way they acted and just couldn’t see the point of it at all.

But then my friends all started having a John Green obsession and asked to borrow it, and I figured since I had nothing else to read, I could try and reread it and see if the way I look at it is going to be different like it was when I reread The Fault in Our Stars.

And sure enough, that was the case.

I don’t know whether it is because I am currently going through an ‘I hate everything’ and a ‘What is the point of my existence’ phase, but this time round I guess I just really got the character of Alaska. I understood why she was the way she was; why she acted and talked that way. That didn’t really mean I liked her any more, but I started to see things about her which I could relate to and also see in myself. Which I don’t know whether or not I should be worried about.

In terms of book reviews, this is probably very, very awful considering the fact that it does not have a real structure whosoever and I am basically just writing down whatever thoughts come to my mind.

I think I should probably include a short plot summary, so basically here is the story.

A guy goes to a boarding school and meets a girl called Alaska. She’s funny, witty, outgoing; basically everything that he’s not. He falls in love with her, she has a boyfriend, they have some cute moments but are always reminded of the fact that she has someone, she finds him a girlfriend. They live happily ever after.

Okay, that’s not the ending. But I don’t really know how to put it without giving away any spoilers.

What I love/hate about the novel is that it finishes off without finding out exactly what happened to Alaska. And we are left wondering and wanting to know what happens but knowing that’s the end. And I guess that’s also how life is. I mean, there are some things that we will actually never, ever know despite how much we want to, but sometimes this is probably also for the best. Perhaps it is better that we are not certain of everything in this world and there is always more that we can find out for ourselves, or maybe not at all.

So to finish off with a deep quote, Imagining the future is a kind of nostalgia. You spend your whole life stuck in the labyrinth, thinking about how you’ll escape it one day, and how awesome it will be, and imagining that future keeps you going, but you never do it. You just use the future to escape the present.’

Leave a Reply

