Allegient (Divergent, #3) by Veronica Roth

Image

I read the first two books in the Divergent series quite a while ago (some time last year) and when the final of this trilogy came out, I did intend to read it. However as with all other things going on in life, namely school exams and my already too-big pile of books to read, I never got a chance to get my hands on a copy. However as I am sure most of you are aware, the much-anticipated movie of the first book Divergent has recently come out (I will find time to see it some time soon!) and my sister along with her friends, are forcing themselves to read it before watching the movie, hence her getting the entire series. Therefore being the kind person I am, I promptly stole the last book off her and read it in one sitting before she realised I had taken it.

But enough on me getting the actual book. Many of my friends have read it and I have also accidentally seen a few spoilers online, so I wasn’t really as surprised about the ending as I should’ve have. But compared to the other two books in the series, I must say I am quite disappointed. I did not really have very high expectations for how the trilogy was going to end (look at what happened to Mockingjay), but as with all dystopian conclusions, I felt that the author tried to put way too much in the final book which steered away from the original idea of the factions that got me into this series. I am also currently reading the Matched series, by Allie Condie, and I do hate to say this but there is no doubt a certain reoccurrence in Young Adult dystopian novels. You have the main character who is usually a female who is headstrong, fierce and says that she is no one special yet manages to be involved in the centre of the uprising which destroys the society, and a few side characters including obviously her boyfriend. I don’t really have a problem with this idea, I mean who doesn’t love reading about a girl who can stand up for herself and kick ass? But what I don’t really like is how the overall plot starts to get a little predictable and in the final book, the author seems to use the ‘let’s kill off every single character’ strategy, and basically everyone who you have become attached to dies. I do get that that is purposely to show the dangers of the world they are in, and that there is a thin line between life and death, but is it really necessary to kill everyone?

What was going to be a short plot summary of Allegiant has turned into a rant about dystopian series, and I do apologise. I just have a lot of strong feelings on that subjects.

So back to the plot summary. Basically the story continues on from the previous two books: there is an uprising and some people want to use the death serum to kill off a bunch of people whilst others want to use a memory serum so they forget about everything and the main character Tris goes and tries to save everyone that she loves but that doesn’t really work hence the horrible ending. Sorry, sort of spoiler.

Do I recommend this book? Probably. Maybe. I mean, if you have read the first two books, then definitely by all means complete the trilogy. But if you were just randomly looking for a book to read, then I would suggest either starting at the first book, or just not reading it at all because it would be very confusing on its own. But looking back, there is A LOT of plots holes that remain unanswered about the series and that frustrates me.

I’m still not very sure how to write ‘proper’ books reviews (If anyone has suggestions, please help!) but I am going to try and write a bit about books I’ve recently read and enjoyed because much as I love reading, writing is also my form of relaxing and ranting about my thoughts through the form of words.

To finish off with a quote from the book (because I have an unhealthy obsession with quotes): ‘There are so many ways to be brave in this world. Sometimes bravery involves laying down your life for something bigger than yourself, or for someone else. Sometimes it involves giving up everything you have ever known, or everyone you have ever loved, for the sake of something greater.
But sometimes it doesn’t.’

Leave a Reply

