Because the Night

Are you a night owl or are you the early bird? What’s your most productive time of day? When do you do your best work?

Sleep. What an interesting topic.

As I am currently sitting here and writing this at ten o’clock at night, I think the answer to that is pretty clear: I am, most undoubtedly, a ‘night owl.’

I have never really been a ‘morning’ person, and perhaps partly due to my warped sleeping pattern, that is a time when I really cannot function very well. Which works absolutely great with the whole education system and expected sleeping times of normal humans.

I recently realised that there was actually a thing known as insomnia where you are unable to sleep and don’t get enough of it, which got me rather worried. The truth is, my entire brain is warped and the most productive time of day for me definitely some time in the evening or very late at night, such as right now. I can stay up super, super late on school nights, get up in time for school, and still be able to function okay throughout the day and even sit exams. I didn’t find anything wrong with this for a very long time, and didn’t really feel very motivated or understand the need to sleep. (And I am currently listening to the song Up All Night, which probably doesn’t really help matters.) My theory was that basically we as humans need about eight hours of sleep, so therefore spend a third of our lives induced in a coma-like state being unproductive. However, if I could somehow alter my way of life, I could ensure that I only get about six to seven hours of sleep and still be able to function. Which I have done over the course of the last few years. I thought that doing this would mean that I could get more out of life and have the time to spend my teenage years doing all those things I want to, such as read and write and finish shows. Of course, my plan did not exactly work as I expected, as I didn’t take into account the fact that this would mean I spend the majority of mornings in a state of hating everything and drowning out everything around me. Which put me completely back to square one, and now I am desperately trying to change my sleeping pattern to something that is somewhat normal, and attempt to sleep before twelve everyday.

Which is why I am going to stop writing now, and maybe make an effort to try and sleep earlier. Because that is definitely going to happen.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/because-the-night/

3 comments

Leave a Reply

