Showdown at Big Sky

How do you handle conflict? Boldly and directly? Or, do you prefer a more subtle approach.

This for me, depends on the people who are involved and how extreme the said conflict is. There are usually two typical reactions from me when dealing with people whom I do not agree with:

  1. Tell myself that they are inferior human beings of no significance and therefore do not deserve me putting in the time and effort in stating the obvious to prove them wrong. 
  2. Plan out and correctly structure an entire argument in my mind describing the various points which they are definitely wrong and I am definitely right whilst acknowledging some counterpoints and destroying them, and then say all of this in one breath speaking as fast as I possibly can in order to lessen the amount of time where I have to speak and all attention is focussed on me.

I’m not sure whether these classify as either boldly or subtly, but whilst I do want to be direct the majority of the time, I tend to lengthen everything I say and think greatly, and try not to use contractions whenever possible. I also find it very, very hard to be ‘straight to the point,’ as proven in many situations. An example of the first thing that comes to mind right now was when (and I’m laughing whilst I think of this) my friends decided to randomly talk about me to a person who I did not know at all on their Facebook. This infuriated me a lot at the time, and therefore I spent about an hour writing an entire essay to both my friends and that person describing the situation and how much I hated and wanted to stab them all with a fork. It was only afterwards that my other friend pointed out I could have just explained everything in one sentence.

So I guess I am the more subtle approach sort of person, who drags on something and takes a very long time to get what I want to say across.

(I have started realising my awful tendency to join phrases together and write super long sentences which you need to either read really fast, or take an awkward breath/stop halfway…)

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/showdown-at-big-sky/

Leave a Reply

